The Member of the Year Award recognizes the top C&E Branch junior-ranking NCM whose outstanding sense of duty, steadfast dedication to the mission, and unfaltering professional bearing brought great credit to the Branch, and enabled exemplary Command & Control capabilities to the Canadian Armed Forces.



It may be awarded to a C&E Branch NCM at – or below – the appointment of Master Corporal / Master Seaman …

  • CA: MCpl to Sig;
  • RCN: MS to OS; and
  • RCAF: MCpl to Avr.

A Sergeant / Petty Officer 2nd Class may be nominated so long as the NCO served as a Master Corporal / Master Seaman at some point throughout the reporting period, and only their time as a junior NCO may be counted toward the nomination.

Beyond the time and rank criteria, the nominee must have performed a deed or activity considered beyond the demands of normal duty and who made an exceptional contribution to the goals and objectives of the C&E Branch in support of the Canadian Armed Forces.

The member is considered a top performer who manifests the highest tier of professional bearing coupled with an unrivalled degree of dedication.

The award is bestowed during C&E Week (late October timeframe) each year.



Eight (8) submissions must come from the following Occupational Advisors (OAs) based on the
Corps or Element of the candidate; all nominations from across the CAF must be channeled to

1. RCCS Corps Chief: Top Signal Operator, Signal Technician, Line Technician, and
Information Systems Technician;

2. RCAF ATIS Tech Senior Trade Advisor (STA): Top Aerospace Telecommunications & Information Systems Technician;

3. CFIOG Group Chief: Top Cyber Operator and Signals Intelligence Specialist; and

4. CA P Res Designated Chief (designated by RCCS CWO): The Top Reserve Junior Signaller.



End of June of the current reporting year.



Award Recipients


Year Recipient
2006 MCpl R.N. Dyck
2007 MCpl J.L. L’Italien
2008 MCpl P.A. Rule
2009 MCpl Paul Hunt
2010 Cpl J.A. Daniels
2011 Cpl J.P. Grenier
2012 MCpl S. St-Gelais
2013 MCpl Martin S.C. Mailloux
2014 MCpl Jean-Sebastien G. Vallée
2015 Cpl Mark T. Flood
2016 Cpl J.C. O’Hearon
2017 MCpl J. Nicholas
2018 MCpl Mike Bauml
2019 MCpl Justin Barfoot
2020 MCpl Joshua Townsend