The Colonel-in-Chief Commendation is the highest award that the C&E Family may bestow.
It serves to recognize recipients – in the form of individual or collective awards – for exceptional service and selfless dedication, and who made a lasting contribution to the objectives of the C&E Branch and our greater family writ large.

The commendation was established by Her Royal Highness, The Princess Royal, Princess Anne.  The award was officially unveiled on the 24th of October, 2013 to help mark the 110th anniversary of military communications in the Canadian Armed Forces.

All members of the C&E Family – including military, civilian, honorary appointments, retired members, and immediate family members – are eligible for the Colonel-in-Chief Commendation.  Furthermore, units or sections of a unit may be nominated when submitting a collective award.

The award is bestowed during C&E Week (late October timeframe) each year.

Note: The Colonel-in-Chief Commendation Certificate template is held by CFSCE Publication Development.  The Branch Adjutant will arrange for its production.  Afterwards, it is sent to the Colonel Commandant for furtherance to the Colonel-in-Chief.


Award Recipients

YearMedallion No.Recipient
99Her Royal Highness, The Princess Royal, Princess Anne
Initial coin at its conception in 2013
20131Brigadier-General George D. Simpson, OMM, CD (Retired)
20132General Ramsay M. Withers, CMM, CD (Retired)
20133Colonel David L. Hart, MM, CD (Retired)
20134Lieutenant-Colonel Dan Bergeron, OMM, CD (Retired)
20135Brigadier-General George D. Simpson, OMM, CD (Retired)
20136Brigadier-General Don Banks, CMM, CD (Retired)
20137Brigadier-General Pep Fraser, OMM, CD (Retired)
20138Brigadier-General William ‘Bill’ J. Patterson, OMM, CD (Retired)
20139Colonel Peter H. Sutton, CD (Retired)
201310Colonel Jack A.P. Thomson, CD (Retired)
201311Colonel Percy A. Tappin, CD (Retired)
201312Major Clair B. Bostwick, MMM, CD (Retired)
201313Major David G. Lawrence, CD (Retired)
201314Major Sandy E. Lipin, CD (Retired)
201315Major Jack Magilton, CD (Retired)
201316Master Warrant Officer Terry R. Murphy, MMM, CD (Retired)
201317Warrant Officer Lisa DeNoble, MMM, CD (Retired)
201318Brigadier-General Michel Charron, OMM, CD (Retired)
201319Brigadier-General Dan P. Harrison, CD (Retired)
201320Captain (Navy) John E. Croft, CD (Retired)
201321Colonel Catherine E. Allan, CD (Retired)
201322Colonel Bob Leitch, CD (Retired)
201323Lieutenant-Colonel Brian P. McDonnell, CD (Retired)
201324Major William ‘Bill’ W. Dyke, MMM, CD (Retired)
201625Major Mike DeNoble, CD (Retired)
201726Brigadier-General William ‘Bill’ Richard, CD (Retired)
201827Colonel Don F. Pruner, OMM, CD (Retired)
201828Colonel Jim Holsworth, CD (Retired)
201930Chief Warrant Officer William ‘Bill’ Fallows, CD (Retired)
202029Master Warrant Officer Patrice Guevremont, CD
202031Brigadier-General Bob Martineau, CD (Retired)